How to Delete YouTube Channel?

Did you think about getting rid of the zillion videos you posted on your YouTube channel? Is it a tedious job of deleting each video one by one? Then the easy way out is by deleting YouTube channel. Are you mortified of losing your YouTube account and other channels associated with it when you delete a particular channel? You need not worry as a channel is different from your YouTube account.

Let us see how to delete YouTube channel as well as a bonus tip on temporarily disabling your account.

Delete YouTube Channel Permanently

  • Log into your YouTube account from a computer browser. Sign into the account that is associated with your YouTube channel.
  • Go to Advanced Account Settings by clicking on your account on the top right corner and go to YouTube settings. Under the Account settings go to Overview and under your channel’s name go to
  • Select Delete channel or content at the bottom of the page and when prompted enter your sign-in details.
  • Choose I want to permanently delete my content.
  • Select the boxes to confirm if you want to delete your channel.
  • Select Delete my channel or content.

You will be able to see the thumbnails of your videos for a certain period as the update takes a bit of time.

Disable YouTube Channel Temporarily

  • Log into YouTube account from a computer from the account associated with the YouTube channel.
  • Go to Advanced account settingsby clicking on your account on the top right corner and go to YouTube settings. Under the Account settings go to Overview and under your channel’s name go to
  • Select Delete channel or content at the bottom of the page and when prompted enter your sign-in details.
  • Choose I want to hide my channel/content.
  • Select the boxes to confirm what will be hidden on the channel.
  • Select Hide my channel.

When you hide you channel it makes your content, channel name, videos, likes, subscribers, and subscriptions private. Your comments and replies will be deleted permanently; however, your account data on Google properties will not be affected.

Those with a Brand Account will not be able to hide or delete channel. However, they can hide their videos and playlist content. The channel will remain visible and accessible to the viewers.

This is how you delete YouTube channel. Temporarily hiding or disabling your channel will allow you to reactivate your account with all your previously posted videos.

References:

  1. https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/55759?hl=en
  2. https://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/0/delete-youtube-account/

Related posts

Leave a Comment