Deleting your Facebook account may not be an easy task. No, I don’t mean the technical part, but the emotional attachment (sort of!) you develop with your Facebook account. Numerous friends, relatives, groups, pages, videos, photographs, etc. cannot be just left at the click of a button. Those of you who have decided they have had enough of Facebook and wish to quit it for good or delete the current account and open a new account will find a solution to their problem here.
The following tutorial will teach you how to delete or disable your Facebook account permanently.
Can I Delete or Just Disable My Account?
Are you thinking you may regret your decision to end your relationship with Facebook later on? Well, do not worry. Facebook has two options to help you overcome your obsession with it. You can either try deactivation of account, wherein, you can re-login into your account anytime you wish. People will no longer be able to see your timeline posts and even search for you. However, some of the information, such as the messages you sent may remain visible.
Or you could try the complete deletion of account. Once you delete your account, you can no longer get access to it. Psssttt.. You still have a chance to revive a completely deleted account! Yes, you have a grace period of 90 days during which all information stored in the backup systems gets deleted. If you wish you can revive your account within this period. After 90 days, your account will be deleted forever.
Deactivating My Facebook Account
You can deactivate your Facebook account temporarily. All you need to do is:
- Go to Settings on your Facebook page and click on the General
- Select Manage your account and scroll down to Deactivate your account.
Once you deactivate your account, your profile will no longer be visible to people on Facebook. You can reactivate your account anytime by just logging in using your email and Facebook password.
Permanently Deleting My Facebook Account
Once you choose to permanently delete your Facebook account, there will be no turning back. You will not be able to retrieve or reactivate the account. You can download a copy of your information before your delete Facebook account permanently. However, if you wish to delete your account with no option for recovery, you can contact the Facebook team for help.
Type delete Facebook account in the search window of your Facebook account. The search results will show you a link Help Center: Permanently delete your Facebook account. Click the link and you will be given instructions to delete your account.
In the link https://www.facebook.com/help/fblite/224562897555674?helpref=faq_content click on the let us know and a new window Delete My Account will appear. Click on the Delete My Account button and your Facebook account will be deleted permanently.
Alternately, you could just type https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account in your browser and delete your Facebook account.
You can log in within 14 days to retrieve your account. If you don’t then your account will be deleted forever.
This is how you delete or disable your Facebook account. It is quite simple to delete permanently or disable temporarily a Facebook account. However, are you ready to stay off this addictive social media site?